Moresby Parish Council
Howgate and Distington Locality Partnership View of View  of Moresby Parks

The partnership is one of six locality boards within the borough of Copeland. The others are South Copeland based on Millom,the Mid Copeland partnership based on Gosforth and Seascale, the West Copeland group based on Egremont, the North East partnership based on Cleator Moor and Frizington and the Whitehaven town centre locality board. In 2003 the three parishes of Lowca, Moresby and Parton produced a parish plan called the Howgate ward plan. In 2005 the Distington parish produced the Distington parish plan. Subsequently the two plans were refreshed as one document.

The Community Plan

Meetings are held on a quarterly basis and recent meetings can be viewed below

The November 2014 meeting

The September 2014 meeting

The June 2014 meeting

The March 2014 meeting

The December 2013 meeting

The August 2013 meeting

The May 2013 meeting

The February 2013 meeting

The November 2012 meeting

The June 2012 meeting

The January 2012 meeting

The October 2011 meeting

A lengthsman scheme has operated in the area from March 2011. The project has been named the parish environmental officer and is funded by a number of organisations.The Rural Development Programme for England contributed 40% of the costs through the Solway Border and Eden LEADER programme.The project is therefore part financed by the European Agricutural Fund for Rural Development: Europe investing in rural areas.

For more information go to EU Commission's rural development website ""

The Cumbria Community Fund contributed 20% of the cost through the NMP Community Fund. Copeland Borough Council contributed 20% through the Working Neighbourhoods Fund and the balance has been funded by the four parishes through the precept.

Return to homepage


  Chris Shaw
Parish Clerk
4 Corkickle
CA28 8AA
Tel: 01946 695701